Under Settings you can choose your privacy settings, indicate who can write and view comments on student work, and manage students’ ability to style their course portfolios.

Privacy Settings

There are a number of privacy settings for students’ portfolios.

  • Teachers and owner: Teachers of the course can view students’ work. Students can view their own portfolios
  • Everyone in the course: All teachers and students can view student portfolios
  • Everyone in the community: All members of the community can view student portfolios
  • Anyone with a link (public): Anyone with a link can view student portfolios created in the course

As you hover over the options, an explanation for each shows up to the right.

Hide People page access

If you don’t want students in your course to be able to view each other on a course roster, you can disable access under the Course settings tab:

Student Email Notitications

If you don’t want students to receive email notifications for due date reminders or confirming their submissions, you can disable these emails via the Course settings tab:

Comments Settings

There are also a number of settings for who can view and write comments on student work within the course.

  • Only teachers and owner: Teachers can read and write comments on students’ work. Students can read and write comments on their own work
  • Anyone privately: Anyone that can view a students portfolio can also leave private comments to the portfolio owner
  • Anyone publicly: Anyone that can view a student’s portfolio can also read and leave comments

As you hover over the options, an explanation for each shows up to the right.

Student Styling

This option allows you to decide whether or not students can change the layout and theme of their course portfolios. By default, this setting is turned on which means they will be able to style their portfolios. Turning this option off “locks” the layout of course portfolios to that of the portfolio template.

NEXT TOPIC:
How to Join Courses→